Bailey School of Music Concert Programs

Performance Date

Spring 4-1-2016



Download Full Program (1.4 MB)


Conductor Thomas Søndergård leads the Atlanta Symphony in the orchestra’s final performance at Kennesaw State University during the 2015-16 season. Pianist Alexandre Tharaud plays Ravel’s Concerto in D Major for the Left Hand Alone, a remarkable synthesis of classical and jazz elements commissioned by pianist Paul Wittgenstein who lost his right arm during the First World War. Following is Ravel’s Rapsodie Espagnol, a magically orchestrated celebration of the beauties and mysteries of Spain with enticing melodies and rhythms. The program is bounded by a pair of works about the sea: Berlioz’s Overture to Le Corsaire inspired by Lord Byron’s tale of the seafaring hero and Debussy’s La Mer inspired by the composer’s lifelong passion for the sea.

Performance Season

15-16 Season

Atlanta Symphony Orchestra