Ellen Johnson Sirleaf is the 24th not 23rd President of Liberia: A New Interpretative History

Document Type


Publication Date



The article explores Liberian historiography and the counting of Liberian presidents. The authors suggest that president Ellen Johnson Sirleaf is the 24th Liberian president due to an error in the historical record. The authors contend that the presidency of vice-president James S. Smith following the overthrow of president Edward J. Roye in 1871 has been overlooked. The activities of the American Colonization Society are discussed. Other topics include the presidential administrations of presidents Joseph Jenkins Roberts and James Spriggs Payne.

This document is currently not available here.